Thursday, July 21, 2011

Last week in Atlanta at ICRS, a news conference hosted by American Christian Fiction Writers and CBA, ACFW proudly announced the finalists in the Carol Awards. The Carol Awards, formerly Book of the Year, honor the highest achievement for published authors of Christian fiction. 
The Borrowed Book is proud to announce that two of its contributors, S. Dionne Moore and Sandra Robbins, have been named as finalists. Moore's Promise of Tomorrow and Robbins's The Columns of Cottonwood were two of three finalists in the Short Historical category. With over 300 entries in this year's contest, making the finalists list is a noteworthy accomplishment. 
Here's a blurb about both books:
Promise of Tomorrow
  Alaina Morrison loves Jack Kelly. So why won’t he realize that all she wants is to get married and begin their new life together? She doesn’t need a large home or new clothes or other things. She only needs him to actually spend time with her and to show how much he loves her.
As dangerous floodwaters threaten their home of Johnstown, Pennsylvania, will Alaina and Jack allow God to bridge their growing differences with His unifying love?

 The Columns of Cottonwood

       She grew up there; she lived through the war there; she lost her parents there. Even in its burned-out condition, it’s still home to Savannah Carmichael. But now it belongs to a stranger—a foreigner!—who paid the back taxes on it and bought it right out from under her.
         Dante Rinaldi never expected that the culmination of his dream—to own some of Alabama’s rich farmland—would mean the destruction of someone else’s. He hasn’t done anything illegal; in fact, he’s worked hard for the privilege of land ownership. So why does Savannah’s plight affect him on such a deep level?Both believe in the sovereignty of God, but how can this situation be orchestrated by Him? Can they find a solution. . .a compromise to benefit both?

From airport newstands to Newsweek, Christian fiction continues to grow in popularity, resonating with readers looking for both faith and fiction. The Borrowed Book is honored to have two contributors who are Carol Award finalists this year. The 2011 Carol Award winners in each category will be announced at ACFW's Awards Gala on Saturday, September 24, 2011, at the annual conference in St. Louis, Missouri.


  1. Congratulations to the Sandras!!! :D I'm so honored to be a fellow contributor to this blog and work with ya'll!

    I have both of these books on my TBR stack, so I'm excited to read them! :)


  2. This is so awesome, and I am SO incredibly proud of you both!! Thank you, thank you, thank you for all you do here on The Borrowed Book, and personally. I couldn't ask for two better friends and co-laborers. :-)

    Congratulations, ladies. I'm beaming with pride!


Newsletter Subscribe



Blog Archive

Powered by Blogger.

Historical Romantic Suspense

Historical Romance



Popular Posts

Guest Registry