Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Isaiah is an amazing book filled with beautiful poetic language and incredible promises as well as judgment and curses. Yet, even as he forecast distress, darkness and fearful gloom (8:22), the prophet proclaimed a coming King who would be a Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father and Prince of Peace (9:6). I especially love Isaiah 9:2: “The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned.” 

How do Christian writers walk in the Light and share that Great Light in this land shadowed by death? Isaiah offers suggestions throughout the book.

Remain humble (10:12) (29:16) (64:8) (66:2)
Trust the Spirit for wisdom, knowledge and understanding (11:2)
Trust God’s plan and purposes (14:24; 46:10-11)
Trust his love and his Word (54:10; 55:11)
Find peace and stability in him (26:3)
Desire God and follow his path (26:7-9)
Appreciate the refining process (43:1-3) (48:10-11) 
Fear God; he is our foundation, salvation, wisdom and knowledge (8:13) (33:6)
Find our joy in the Lord (58:14)
Find our security in him (41:10,13)
Find our strength in him (12:2) (40:31) (49:5) (58:11)
Follow the Highway of Holiness (35:8-10)
Hope in the Lord (40:28-31)
Cry out for his help (30:19) (58:9)
Allow him to teach and direct us (28:26) (48:17)
Write the truth (30:8)
Listen to the Sovereign Lord for words to help others (50:4)
Tell others about God’s faithfulness (38:19)
Base our writing on God’s Word (40:8)
Ask him for something new to write (43:18-19)
Proclaim peace, good news, freedom and salvation (52:7) (61:1)
Pray, pray, pray! (55:6) (56:7)

I am not a theologian, and this is just a taste of the wisdom Isaiah offers us, but there’s plenty of meat to chew on in these few verses (look ‘em up!). My challenge to myself and to you is to walk in the Light in 2014. He will guide and illuminate our writing.

Rebecca Carey Lyles writes nonfiction as well as fiction and serves as an editor and mentor for aspiring authors. Her second novel, Winds of Freedom is the sequel to the award-winning first book in the Kate Neilson series, Winds of Wyoming.


Twitter: @BeckyLyles

Facebook: Rebecca Carey Lyles


Post a Comment

Newsletter Subscribe



Blog Archive

Powered by Blogger.

Historical Romantic Suspense

Historical Romance



Popular Posts

Guest Registry