Monday, September 17, 2012

About the Book

"Before Anna Prentiss can start nursing school in New York, her brother sends her to Cades Cove, deep in the Smoky Mountains, to spend a summer apprenticing to the local midwife. Anna is determined to prove herself and then head to the big city. But nothing could have prepared Anna for the beauty of the Cove, the community and friendships she finds there, or the feelings Simon Martin, the handsome young minister, arouses in her. Has God’s plan for Anna changed? Or is she just starting to hear Him clearly?"

Amber's Review

For a sweet summer setting, Cades Cove is the place to visit! Tucked away into the Smoky Mountains (a setting reminiscent of Christy by Catherine Marshall), Cades Cove is a delightful retreat with a dear community and lovely, rustic scenery.

Anna Prentiss' experiences as an apprentice to the well-beloved midwife of the Cove, Granny, are informative, suspenseful, and uplifting. The "summer-lovin'" drama feels a bit over-exaggerated at times, but overall the romance is enjoyable to read about. And the tidbits of wisdom from the kind and generous Granny, as well as the lessons on friendship and understanding, round out the story in a meaningful way.

While perhaps not extremely original (after all, Christy fans will find the setting, the pastor-love-interest, the attitudes of the Cove residents, and the strong female mentor to be nothing new), Robbins' story has its own charm. The details regarding midwifery are interesting, and Anna's challenges as a newcomer to the Cove are unique.

*With thanks to the author and Harvest House for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for my honest opinion.*

Note: This review was posted previously on Seasons of Humility.

About the Author

"Sandra Robbins is a multi-published author who lives with her husband in the small Tennessee college town where she grew up. At present she has eleven books published and six more contracted. Her books have been finalists in the Daphne du Maurier Contest for excellence in mystery writing, the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence for romance, the Holt Medallion, and the ACFW Carol Award. In Barbour’s 18th Annual Heartsong Awards for 2010, Sandra was one of five authors voted by readers as favorite new authors, and The Columns of Cottonwood which went on to be a finalist in the ACFW Carol Award was voted by readers as one of ten favorite historical romances of the year. Angel of the Cove, her first book in the Harvest House historical romance series Smoky Mountain Dreams, releases in August, 2012. It will be followed by Mountain Homecoming and Mountain Laurel Promises in 2013.
You can find out more about Sandra and follow her blog at her website"

Book Trailer

1 comment :

  1. Sounds like a grate book. I love stories that have nursing as a premise in the story. I'm not exactly sure how much this book ties into nursing but it does sound like it's worth reading.


Newsletter Subscribe



Blog Archive

Powered by Blogger.

Historical Romantic Suspense

Historical Romance



Popular Posts

Guest Registry